What you wear matters


Renato Steinberg

I didn’t care about fashion. My wardrobe consisted of about 4 pairs of pants and 4 shirts specifically chosen so they could all match each other. I just picked a random shirt and a random pair of pants and I was ready to go.

I never understood why people would spend thousands of dollars on shoes, watches and bags, fashion to me was something for people with deep pockets and shallow pants.

Little did I know…

Working on fashion.me made me pay more attention to what fashion really is and to what I was wearing. I started buying some nicer and more fashionable products, and something really unexpected happened: people started to treat me better. That didn’t make any sense to me, I expected people to think I was one of those people with the shallow brain.

It took some time for me to realize why: People who are more elegant are perceived as having more social status and more money. When you dress up you feel more confident and that makes people respect you more.

Now I have completely different opinion on Fashion. Your look represents your state of mind, it’s a way to express your individuality and to tell the world that you are part of a tribe. It shows people your social value. When you wear a luxury brand, you borrow all of the qualities of that brand. It’s not that I’m spending all my money on clothing and accessories, but I think it’s important to have at least some good products so you can make a good impression if you have to.

Remember: People judge you by the way you look so next time you have an important meeting, take an extra effort in looking good. It matters more than you think.

Renato Steinberg is the co-founder of Fashion.me

(Photo: Still Burning, Flickr)

Leave a Reply

