Count down to Christmas Eve with Google Santa Tracker


December 19, 2012

While millions of people eagerly await Christmas Day, Santa and his elves are keeping busy at the North Pole. They’re preparing presents, tuning up the sleigh, feeding the reindeer and, of course, checking the list (twice!) before they take flight on their trip around the world.

While we’ve been tracking Santa since 2004 with Google Earth, this year a team of dedicated

engineers built a new route algorithm to chart Santa’s journey around the world on Christmas Eve. On his sleigh, arguably the fastest airborne vehicle in the world, Santa whips from city to city delivering presents to millions of homes. You’ll be able to follow him on Google Maps and Google Earth, and get his stats starting at 2:00 a.m. PST Christmas Eve at google.com/santatracker.

Screen+Shot+2012-12-18+at+3.38.49+PM.png
Simulating Santa’s path across the world—see it live Dec 24

In addition, with some help from developer elves, we’ve built a few other tools to help you track Santa from wherever you may be. Add the new Chrome extension or download the Android app to keep up with Santa from your smartphone or tablet. And to get the latest updates on his trip, follow Google Maps on Google+, Facebook andTwitter.

dashboard.png
Get a dashboard view of Santa’s journey on Google Maps

The Google Santa Tracker will launch on December 24, but the countdown to the journey starts now! Visit Santa’s Village today to watch the countdown clock and join the elves and reindeer in their preparations. You can even ask Santa to call a friend or family member.

We hope you enjoy tracking Santa with us this year. And on behalf of everyone at Google—happy holidays!

Posted by Brian McClendon, VP of Google Maps and Google Earth

Labels: maps and earth

20 thoughts on “Count down to Christmas Eve with Google Santa Tracker

  1. I’m now not sure where you are getting your information, but good topic. I must spend a while studying much more or understanding more. Thank you for magnificent info I was on the lookout for this information for my mission.

    • Hey There,

      Thanks for stopping by, I am getting all those information from my trusted sources of RSS feeds i read most of the time, So i am picking up the best technical or Fantastic RSS feeds and broadcast them again in my style.

      Thanks and Enjoy 🙂

  2. That is very fascinating, You are an excessively skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and sit up for in quest of more of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks

    • Hey There,

      Thanks for stopping by, Thanks so much for your wonderful comment and hope you enjoy the blog and more than this, I am glad you find it informative and hope that content will be better and better in the coming future.

      Thanks and Enjoy 🙂

  3. Hey There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn. This is a really well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your useful information. Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

    • Hey There,

      Thanks for stopping by, Thanks so much for your wonderful comment and hope you enjoy the blog and more than this, I am glad you find it informative and hope that content will be better and better in the coming future.

      Thanks and Enjoy 🙂

  4. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice at the same time as you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a blog web site? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I have been tiny bit familiar of this your broadcast offered brilliant clear concept

    • Hey There,

      Thanks for stopping by, Thanks so much for your wonderful comment and hope you enjoy the blog and more than this we can create some chatting threads where we discuss some technical stuff related to those topics and to the evolution of geeks world 🙂

      Thanks and Enjoy 🙂

  5. You are so awesome! I do not suppose I’ve read through anything like that before. So great to find someone with genuine thoughts on this subject. Really.. many thanks for starting this up. This web site is something that’s needed on the internet, someone with a
    bit of originality!

    • Thanks so much for stopping by, I hope you enjoyed it and hope you would follow my blog if you really like to read such interesting articles that get broadcasted through my blog.

    • Thanks so much for stopping by, I hope you enjoyed it and hope you would follow my blog if you really like to read such interesting articles that get broadcasted through my blog.
      Thanks, I will take care and hope you would too in this new year 🙂

    • Thanks so much for your appreciation, I hope this blog became more useful to you than ever, I hope you would follow my blog if you really like to read such interesting articles that get broadcasted through my blog.

  6. Thanks , I have recently been looking for info approximately this subject for a long time and yours is the greatest I have discovered till now. But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you sure in regards to the source?|What i do not realize is in fact how you’re not really a lot more smartly-appreciated than you might be right now. You are so intelligent.

  7. hello there and thanks for your information ? I have certainly picked up something new from proper here. I did however experience a few technical points using this website, as I experienced to reload the site many times prior to I could get it to load properly. I have been considering in case your hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, however sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality ranking if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my email and can glance out for much more of your respective exciting content. Ensure that you update this again soon..

    • Thanks so much for your comment and for being thoughtful, Actually i am just blogging using WordPress free service, which is deployed on free servers that have a lot of traffic & can be little slow, However i will really take it into action by deploying it on premium WordPress when having little bigger traffic & start thinking about ads

Leave a Reply

